Clever title

Game review: Fire Emblem Warriors: Three Hopes, Tiny Tina's Wonderlands, Digimon Survive

This post is a 3 for 1 special. I have not spent a lot of time writing the past few months and it has been high time to change that. I finished 3 games during this time, and I decided to cover them in the same post because they share some similarities. They are all games I would/will play again when the right time comes, but none of them were particularly outstanding for me.

Let's start with Fire Emblem Warriors: Three Hopes. I have been a huge fan of the core Fire Emblem ever since I played Blazing Blade on the GBA. I'm not very interested in Dynasty Warriors, so I passed on the first Fire Emblem Warriors. However, I really loved the characters and world building in Three Houses, so I was excited to try the demo out. I felt about how I expected: I was engaged with the story but not so much the gameplay. I played through Edelgard's route the first time and I can say I love the new direction of the story. It's basically an alternate history of Three Houses that is less dark in tone.

One of my problems with Three Houses was that my first playthrough was excellent, and then each following playthrough showed more and more illusions of choice. I still love the game but I definitely wished the story was more responsive to my choices. On my first playthrough, I honestly think that Three Hopes might have achieved this. There was a lot of unique dialogue before, during, and after recruiting people from other houses. So overall, even though I wasn't a huge fan of the gameplay, I do want to replay this eventually to get the other stories. I think if anyone is on the fence about this game they should try the entire demo.

The next game I want to talk about is Tiny Tina's Wonderlands. I took a gamble on this and if I'm being honest, I don't think it was worth it. I loved the voice acting and I enjoyed a lot of the side quests, but I was playing this by myself. I spent most of the game remembering how much I enjoyed playing Borderlands with friends back in school. If you have friends to play with, this would be great, especially if they're also into D&D or other tabletop roleplaying. The game really captures the atmosphere for both DMs and players.

And now for the finale, Digimon Survive. This was also a gamble, but I am pleased with how it turned out. I have been following Digimon Survive since it was announced and honestly I was worried about the development time. I really wanted this to be good but I have been burned on long delayed games before so I was nervous. I bought it a few days after it came out once I started hearing good things. I would guess it's about 50% visual novel, 25% point and click, and 25% combat. I thought the story was pretty engaging, and I definitely had opinions about every character. I liked the roster of Digimon they chose and from that perspective I was happy with my Virus playthrough. The story for the Virus playthrough was very sad so I will definitely want to play the other routes and try to get better endings on NG+. I have found that with story driven games like this I enjoy my playthroughs when they're spaced out by several months so I will let this cool off for a bit.