Clever title

Film review: Sonic 2

I've been meaning to watch Sonic 2 for some time now, but I just haven't felt like going to the movie theatre. So I made the easy choice and paid to watch it on YouTube. It was mostly what I expected it to be, and overall I enjoyed it.

Firstly, the animation was really pleasing to the eye. I really loved all the special effects and attention to detail. However, I still feel like the design for Sonic, Tails, Knuckles, etc. doesn't really fit into the real world. Most of the scenes are ok, but then I would notice something that didn't match, like when Knuckles gets his gloves dirty.

Secondly, the characters. I like that Sonic shared more screentime with Tails and Knuckles. I think they balance each other out in a better way together. Sonic and Tails have some very sweet scenes developing their friendship. Idris Elba also did an excellent job with Knuckles. He found the right balance between Knuckles being powerful and gruff. Robotnik was my favorite part of the film, just like the first one. Jim Carrey is a little more whacky in the sequel, which I personally liked. The rest of the human characters are ok. I think everyone did a good job with their characters, but the B-plot was a really weak part of the movie. I think it really limited how well they could play their roles.

Thirdly, I'll conclude with the story. The main story is pretty standard, in a good way. Sonic is trying to save the world from Robotnik again, with Tails and Knuckles making things a little more complicated. The B-plot is about a wedding in Hawaii, which is where most of the human characters are throughout the film. I am not really sure what the B-plot was going for tonally, so I will not try to discuss it.

I think the strengths of the film are the Sonic game characters and the quality of the animation. They ended with an aftercredits for a Sonic 3, which I will probably end up watching too. I think having multiple scenes with only the human characters (excluding Robotnik) was the weakest part of the movie.

#film #review