Clever title

Book review: Disrupting the Game

Disrupting the Game: From the Bronx to the Top of Nintendo is Reggie Fils-Aimé's autobiography. I have always been a big fan of Reggie so when I saw that he wrote a book I really wanted to read it. I wasn't sure what to expect, but I wound up enjoying the book very much.

The book goes through his career and important moments and lessons learned. I thought the career advice was very solid, and there was one key point that really stuck with me after reading. Reggie had a lot of great business ideas, but wasn't always able to get people to adopt them. His response was to do the best to sell them, and then do his best no matter what the decision was. I tend to get discouraged or frustrated when this happens to me, but I want to follow in Reggie's footsteps on this one.

Reggie's time at Nintendo is discussed in depth, and I found it really fascinating. He explains the stories and events behind the memes, and also gives his perspective on the launches he oversaw. One of the things that made me really happy was how considerate Reggie is. Nintendo has always stood out in my mind as a "good" company. Not perfect, but good. Reading Reggie's stories supported that image in my mind. I would recommend this book to anyone who has an interest in Reggie, obviously, but also Nintendo in general.

#book review #nintendo #video game